Change background image

Stock market

Discussion in 'Outfield' started by Larry, Nov 18, 2013.

1. Larry

Larry The Head Fish .

Who invests in the market? Anyone here?
  2. ...

... Sun

Yup. Since 1966.

After talking my parents into a Wall Street Journal subscription (it was $11 for 6 months) I formed a little family fund. 5K. That would be about 40K today. I was only 14 and therefore legally unable to instruct a broker to do anything. The Merrill Lynch broker got tired of me having to put my mother on the phone to confirm what I'd told him to do, so he decided to just take my instructions. Good thing I made money, 'cause I could have repudiated any transactions done only on my word. I would never have done such a thing, but that was the risk he exposed himself to.

Since then I've been a regular trader of and investor in securities, options on securities, futures, options on futures, single stock futures and all sorts of other esoterica.

My funniest memory is of being on a pay phone to the M-L broker in my high school hallway, with a flood of oblivious students going by on their way to their next class. I was busy exercising a call option and selling the called shares at the market. Happened to be 100 shares of International Industries (this was the outfit that owned IHOP at the time, and franchising was hot.)

Called away from the seller of the call option at the option strike price, 33 5/8. Then, simultaneously sold at 53 3/4, confirmed to me while I was on the phone. 2K gross profit less the 900 bucks I paid for the call option. When I bought it about 60 days prior, it was about 800 bucks in-the-money as INT was at ~42. I risked the entire 900 bucks I paid, but only about 100 dollars of the 900 was for the 60 days of time. In the then-roaring bull market for franchisers like INT, time was everything.