Jump to content

Bush, Leinart, Young only three Heisman invitees


Recommended Posts

NEW YORK -- The Heisman Trophy competition is a three-man race -- just as it's been all season.


Reggie Bush and Matt Leinart of Southern California will be back in New York on Saturday, along with Texas quarterback Vince Young, when the Heisman Trophy is awarded to the nation's best college football player.


The Downtown Athletic Club, which hands out the sport's most prestigious individual award, invited Wednesday only those three players to the presentation ceremony.


Last season, five players attended the Heisman ceremony and Leinart won it. Since 1999, either four or five finalists have been invited to New York.


Bush, Leinart and Young have been the front-runners since the preseason, and they've been jockeying for position all year.


The two USC stars said they were proud to be returning to the ceremony.


"It was a a great experience last year, seeing Matt win it," said Bush, who finished fifth in the 2004 voting.


Leinart said, "It's a great honor to be invited as a Heisman finalist again. I look forward to returning to New York with Reggie, and congratulations to Vince Young as well."


Bush emerged as the favorite in the past three weeks with two enormous games. The 200-pound speedster had 513 all-purpose yards in a 50-42 victory over Fresno State and he rushed for 260 yards and two touchdowns in a 66-19 victory over UCLA, which completed a perfect regular season for the Trojans (12-0).


Bush, who finished fifth in the Heisman voting last season to earn a trip to Manhattan, has rushed for a career-high 1,658 yards, averaging 8.9 per carry, and scored 18 touchdowns.


The junior would be the first running back to win the award since Ron Dayne in 1999. The last five winners have been quarterbacks.


Leinart is having an even better season this year than last, when he became the sixth USC player to win the Heisman, and second Trojans quarterback in three years.


Carson Palmer won as a senior in 2002. Four USC tailbacks have won the Heisman -- Mike Garrett (1965), O.J. Simpson ('68), Charles White ('79) and Marcus Allen ('81).


Leinart passed up a chance to become the No. 1 pick in the NFL draft to return to USC for his senior year, and threw for 3,450 yards and 27 touchdowns. His most memorable moments came at the end of one of his most inconsistent games.


With USC trailing at Notre Dame 31-28 and 1:32 left in the game, Leinart audibled to a risky fade pattern on fourth-and-9 from his own 26 and threw a perfect pass to Dwayne Jarrett. The completion covered 61 yards.


Soon after, Leinart spun into the end zone with help from a Bush push to score the winning touchdown with 3 seconds left.


The left-hander is 37-1 in three years as a starter and could become the second player to win two Heismans, joining Ohio State running back Archie Griffin, who won in 1974 and '75.


Young, the best running quarterback in the country, became an effective passer this season, throwing for 2,769 yards and 26 touchdowns. He's led the Longhorns (12-0) to a perfect regular season and Big 12 title.


The junior vaulted to the front of the Heisman race just two weeks into the season, when he led Texas to a 25-22 victory at Ohio State, tossing the winning score with less than three minutes left.


About a month later, Texas found itself trailing at halftime 28-9 to Oklahoma State when Young took over. His 80-yard touchdown run sparked a comeback and was part of a record-setting game for Young.


He piled up 506 total yards, a Texas record, and became just the second QB in major college history to run and pass for more than 230 in the same game.


Young would be Texas' third Heisman winner, joining running backs Ricky Williams ('98) and Earl Campbell ('77).


The three finalists will meet in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 4 with the national title on the line.


Last season, four of the five finalists played in the Bowl Championship Series national title game when USC defeated Oklahoma for the Trojans' second straight crown.


Sooners tailback Adrian Peterson was the runner-up to Leinart last season, and 2003 Heisman winner Jason White of Oklahoma was third.







Link to comment
Share on other sites

Honestly, since they're breaking from recent tradition anyway, why bother invinting Young and Leinart? :mischief


I could be totally wrong but I thought the prevous winner gives the award to the new winner


atleast Leinart is a voter so he should be there, but no Vince lol

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...