Jump to content

Longoria, Soto win Rookie of the Year


Recommended Posts

Evan Longoria, the third baseman whose powerful bat keyed the Rays' remarkable turnaround season, and Cubs catcher Geovany Soto were named winners of their respective leagues' 2008 Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Awards. Longoria, the unanimous American League selection of Baseball Writers Association of America voters, was honored for the 27 homers and 85 RBIs that followed his delayed addition to the Rays' lineup on April 12.


Soto was nearly as popular in the NL, after minding the critical defensive position for the Central division champs while putting up 23 homers and 86 RBIs.


Longoria, the first Rookie of the Year in Tampa Bay's 11-season history, also became the first third baseman to earn the award in the AL since his current Tampa Bay teammate Eric Hinske -- who played that position for Toronto and earned the honor in 2002.


Soto is the first Cubs player so honored since pitcher Kerry Wood won in 1998, and the first catcher to win since Mike Piazza was selected while playing for the Dodgers in 1993.


- MLB.com

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...