Jump to content

Kyle Skipworth to Represent Hoppers in All-Star Game


Recommended Posts

GREENSBORO, NC - South Atlantic League President Eric Krupa has announced the rosters for the 51st Annual South Atlantic All-Star Game to be played at Flour Field, June 22, 2010, in Greenville, South Carolina. The South Atlantic All-Star teams are composed of 27 players, selected by the votes of the team's managers and coaching staffs, local media and front office executives.


In the Northern Division, the leading vote getter was Greensboro Grasshoppers' catcher Kyle Skipworth. Skipworth, who will start at catcher for the Northern team, is coming off a very hot stretch; where in the month of May he batted .298 with 6 home runs and 21 RBI to lead the Grasshoppers. On the season Skipworth is batting .246 with 10 home runs and 32 RBI.


Skipworth, the lone All-Star representative from Greensboro, will be joined on the team by Hagerstown's Steven Souza at third base and by Destin Hood in left field. Also joining them in the starting lineup are Hickory's Miguel Velazquez in center field along with Kannapolis' first and second basemen Ian Gac and Daniel Wagner. The rest of the starters for the Northern Division are Delmarva's Brian Conley in right field, Lakewood's Jonathan Villar at shortstop, and West Virginia's Aaron Baker as the designated hitter. The starting pitcher for the Northern team will be Hagerstown's Daniel Rosenbaum.


Managing the Northern Division All-Stars will be Hickory manager Bill Richardson, who is in his first season as manager for the Crawdads. He will be assisted by Hagerstown manager Matt LeCroy, Hickory pitching coach Brad Holman and hitting coach Jason Hart.


The Southern Division All-Star team will be led by league's leading vote getter Wilmer Flores of the Savannah Sand Gnats. Flores, was one of six players selected from the Sand Gnats. Joining him in the starting lineup are Savannah's Juan Lagares in left field, Asheville's Eliezer Mesa in center field, Lexington's Kody Hinze at first base, Jose Altuve at second base and J.D. Martinez in right field. The rest of the starters are Augusta's Christopher Dominguez at third base, Greenville's Daniel Butler at catcher, and Charleston's Luke Murton as the designated hitter. Toeing the rubber for the Southern Division All-Stars will be Rome's Arodys Vizcaino.


Managing the Southern Division team will be Augusta manager Dave Machemer, who is in his second season managing the GreenJackets. Joining his staff will be Greenville manager Billy McMillion, Augusta hitting coach Lipso Nava and Rome pitching coach Jim Czajkowski.


This year's All-Star events will begin at 6:05 pm on June 22 with a Home Run Derby, followed by the Class of 2010 SAL Hall of Fame inductees being honored in a pre-game ceremony and with the first pitch of the 2010 All-Star game scheduled for 7:15 pm.




Skipworth an All-Star

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This thread is quite old. Please consider starting a new thread rather than reviving this one.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...