Steroid Abuse

MarlinsFan253

Here is something that I have noticed from a few players including Palmeiro today... Some players that test positive for steroids claim they did not know they put any in their bodies. I think Bonds and Sheffield both claimed they just took what their trainers gave them without asking about the ingredients or anything (I'm not trying to say they took illegal steroids). I think this is a pathetic excuse because these are professional atheletes! How do they not know what they are putting in their bodies?!? I am not a pro athlete, but even I know what kinds of vitamins and medicines I put in my body.

Whether steroids are taken purposely, or "on accident", any players testing positive are guilty either way.

I don't claim to be an expert on this stuff, but I gave myself a one-day intro at Google University and learned more than you'll learn from talk radio.

Part of what's going on is that there's some ambiguity as to what consitutes a "steroid." This is especially so in the case of so-called "designer" steroids, which are known to trainers and athletes before they're known to the authorities. The most famous case seems to have been a substance known as THG, which was in wide use but unknown to authorities until a track coach submitted them a sample. Voila, a whole bunch of people got caught using something that hadn't been explicitly banned when they were using it.

As a result, a trainer can give can athlete a substance, and he can swear up and down that it's not a steroid, and he can be telling the truth, or at least can rationalize that he's telling the truth. A player can deny that he's used steroids or banned substances, and rationalize that he's not lying.