10 Questions with Brian Biggane

Beinfest4Prez

Brian Biggane is the Palm Beach Post Panthers beat writer. He is one of the best hockey beat writers in the biz. We here were lucky enough to get an interview with Brian Biggane about the Panthers offseason and future. To help you acquaint yourself with Mr. Biggane, here is a short biography courtesy of The Palm Beach Post.

Position at The Post: Hockey writer

Here since: 1980

Hometown: Buffalo, N.Y.

What I blog about: Florida Panthers

What I do when I'm not working: I enjoy playing golf and traveling with my wife, Maria. We've visited Europe a half-dozen times and her native Brazil more than 10.

Past jobs: During my teenage years I worked as a newspaper carrier (five years) and dishwasher, and I spent time one summer during college shoveling coal that spilled off a conveyer belt back onto the belt at a power plant. I got a half-hour at the end of every shift to take a shower. By the end of that summer I knew I'd do whatever it took to get my college degree.

Sports: Completed about 20 triathlons during my 30s, but my real claim to fame is playing four years of college soccer at St. Bonaventure University, starting my last two at left back.

Car: Recently purchased a Toyota Prius hybrid, which I'm happy to say has lived up to its claims of getting 50-plus mpg.

Most difficult interview: Former Dolphin coach Don Shula, by a mile. During his heyday, he lived to intimidate young writers. At 26, when I came onto the beat for the Fort Myers News-Press, he treated me the way a lion treats fresh meat.

Panthers Daily Puck: Which players have the Panthers been targetting, either through free agency or trade?