Jump to content

Molitor and Eckersley Elected to Hall


Recommended Posts

Retired greats Paul Molitor and Dennis Eckersley were elected to the Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers' Association of America today. Molitor led the ballot with 85.2% of the ballot (431 votes), while Eckersley came in second with 83.2% (421 votes).


Ryne Sandberg, likely the most dominant second baseman of the past twenty years, missed out on the election, gaining only 61.1%. However, Sandberg's percentage increased greatly from last year's 45%. Much like Gary Carter, Sandberg will likely be elected in a year or two, as his support grows.


Rounding out the rest of the top ten were, in order: Bruce Sutter, Jim Rice, Andre Dawson, Rich Gossage, Lee Smith (the all-time saves leader), Bert Blyleven, and Jack Morris.


Former great Joe Carter was dropped from the ballot after only receiving 19 votes in his first year of eligibility.


The much weaker 2005 list of first-time eligible players will be led by Wade Boggs.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

no not everyone on the ballot shoudl be a hall of famer.




jack morris dominated the 80s.



goose was THE closer before anyone else, he in many ways defined the position.



Look at Bert's numbers, ignoring his win-loss record.




Pay attention to something less than stats.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...