What's Your Take On Transgender Individuals?

SorianoFanHFW

I'm not a doctor or a psychologist, so I really don't know.

I'm not sure if you guys heard of this, but it is a while ago:

http://abcnews.go.com/sections/us/DailyNew...ange010422.html

San Francisco became the first body of government to help pay for sex changes. In some governments, the national healthcare system pays for your sex change free of charge. What's your take on this?

I beleive that transgender individuals have a mental illness. It is one thing to be homosexual, but it is another to want to alter your body. Psychologically, do these people hate themselves and so they seek to permantly physically alter their body as a result? If this is a psychological problem, should a responsible government give these people psychological help instead of putting them under the knife?

All I know is this. There are bigger health problems out there that the government should pay for. Furthermore, I would like to say I have nothing personally against transgender individuals any more than people with psychological problems like depression and so on. However, it appears that wanting to be a different gender is purly psychological and it shouldn't be dealt with in a surgical manner.

Opinions?

i wouldnt compare wanting to switch sexes to depression. I'd compare it to SEVERE depression. I mean, it's one thing (and wierd at that) to constantly wish you were of the opposite sex. It's another to actually spend the money (or have the govt spend money) to have your penis taken off, and a vagina added in. I'm not gonna beat around the bush: that's disgusting.

i wouldnt compare wanting to switch sexes to depression. I'd compare it to SEVERE depression. I mean, it's one thing (and wierd at that) to constantly wish you were of the opposite sex. It's another to actually spend the money (or have the govt spend money) to have your penis taken off, and a vagina added in. I'm not gonna beat around the bush: that's disgusting.