Jump to content

Hanley named Marlins MVP by Florida BBWAA


Recommended Posts

Palm Beach Post Staff Writer


Sunday, September 21, 2008


MIAMI GARDENS — Shortstop Hanley Ramirez missed a fourth straight start Sunday but still had something to celebrate. He received his second consecutive Marlins Most Valuable Player award, given out by the South Florida chapter of the Baseball Writers Association if America.


"A lot of people on this team deserved that award,'' he said. And apparently some of his teammates agree.


Several players privately grumbled that they thought Jorge Cantu was the team's most valuable player. Cantu went into Sunday batting .279 with 29 home runs and 93 RBI. Manager Fredi Gonzalez has said he thinks Cantu has been Florida's most consistent player.


Ramirez was the first to say he thought his season could have been better. He has 32 home runs, 33 stolen bases, a NL-best 119 runs scored and a .298 batting average. But he pointed out his strikeouts are up (119 after 96 last year) and his hits are down (169 after 212 last year).


Ramirez has made 21 errors so far, three fewer than his total last year. But he said he plans to work on his defense this winter at home in the Dominican Republic and "maybe play in the Winter League.''


Ramirez took batting practice Sunday, his first baseball activities since leaving Wednesday's game with a strained left shoulder. He hopes to return today.


He's the first Marlin to win the honor in back-to-back years since Jeff Conine (1994-95) and the fifth player to win it twice (Cliff Floyd 1998, 2001; Luis Castillo 1999, 2007; and Miguel Cabrera 2004, 2006).


In other awards, pitcher Chris Volstad was named top rookie. Alfredo Amezaga got the Jeff Conine All-Heart Award. Luis Gonzales got the Charlie Hough Good Guy Award, given out to the player who fosters the most positive relationship with the media.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Castillo in 2007?!?!?!? I think they meant 2002. Anytime a guy goes 30-30 people will tend to place more value on that then the guy who grinds it out everyday like Cantu. I can't argue that Hanley had a great season, but I still think Nolasco was the most valuable as he gave the team a chance to win almost everytime he took the ball. Didn't they used to have a most improved award also?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...