this guy has it right on

MVPosey

By Richard Lapchick

Special to Page 2

The media's coverage of Barry Bonds' move past Willie Mays and into third place on the all-time home run list has been remarkable. From last season to spring training to Opening Day to No. 661, it seems as if a day did not pass without a story or at least a reference to the landmark home run, which he hit Tuesday night in San Francisco in the Giants' 4-2 victory over Milwaukee.

Barry Bonds rounds the bases after hitting home run No. 661.

The extent of the buzz and the diversity of the perspectives have been striking. But most remarkable is the issue left out: the racial factor. We read about the achievement; the achievement tainted by rumors of steroid use; the aloof and arrogant persona that keeps Bonds at arm's length from the media and fans; the death last year of Bonds's father as the son approached his godfather's mark.

Race does not seem to be on the radar screen.

I was a guest lecturer in a class on the African-American athlete at a Big Ten university last week. Of the 32 students, half were white and half were African-American. We discussed the possibility that race factors in to the public's response to Bonds. When I asked how many of the students think race is a factor, all of the African-Americans and two white students raised their hands. When I asked who didn't think it is a factor, all the remaining whites raised their hands.

When I am interviewed, I am repeatedly asked why the public doesn't embrace Bonds. Why didn't they love him in 2001 when he broke Mark McGwire's single-season home run record like they loved McGwire when he broke Roger Maris' record? Why don't they love him now as he becomes the third-greatest home-run hitter in history?

Lessons from Lapchick