Broken Bat Conspiracy?

So does anyone think that these BAT companies are making these bats easier to brake so that MLB or Teams (whoever is responsible for buying the bats) has to spend more money $$$? I mean wouldn't these bat companies stand to profit quite a bit from all the broken bats?

I'm no bat expert but Inside the Marlins did a story on bats and the Louisville Slugger guy mentioned that the average bat has gone from 34 ounces to about 30.5 ounces over the last decade or so. But the players still like the small handle, big barrel style. That may have something to do with it.

I'll say this, Hermida better change his order or bat company. It's getting ridiculous.

I'm no bat expert but Inside the Marlins did a story on bats and the Louisville Slugger guy mentioned that the average bat has gone from 34 ounces to about 30.5 ounces over the last decade or so. But the players still like the small handle, big barrel style. That may have something to do with it.

I'll say this, Hermida better change his order or bat company. It's getting ridiculous.

I wonder what Hermida would be hitting without all the broken bat hits.

Players have been requesting maple bats more and more since Bonds made them popular. The problem is that maple is a soft wood and breaks easier than white ash. I believe the MLB is going to take a look at the process after this season and decide whether or not to ban them or try and change the recipe.

As I said I think they (it used to be two or three bat makers, now there's dozens) are making them to maximize torque and without regard for longevity or the consequences of doing so. Years ago not only did you not see an entire team break as many bats as Hermida does in a series, the bats didn't break, they cracked (split) and stayed in tact.