Don't look for Juan Pierre

to be throwing any baseballs into the fish tank next year. In fact, don't look for any player to throw baseballs to the fans next year.

As a defense lawyer, I am embarrased to say that a fan has actually SUED Juan Pierre and the Marlins in Broward County Circuit Court alleging that Juan Pierre negligently threw a baseball into the stand with such "great velocity" that it hit a fan in the face. This seemingly frivoulous suit was filed on October 4 in Broward County.

I anticipate that the Marlins will now forbid their players from thowing balls into the stands after innings and after warm-ups.

It is a shame that such people do things that ruin things for everyone else.

Most stadiums announce a disclaimer that fans are at their own risk at the game and should be aware of any object (bat, ball, otherwise) can go into the stands at any time. That said, I doubt the fan has a case.

585207[/snapback]

That covers batted balls -- doubt that it would apply to a ball intentionally thrown into the stands.

This guy has no case. All parks make numerous warnings in written form and over the PA system to watch out for objects that can depart the playing field and enter the stands(i.e. balls & bats).

585208[/snapback]

Again - doubt that it applies to intentionally thrown objects

585214[/snapback]

Way to treat one of the best human beings on the baseball diamond :(

It's pathetic the extent to which people want to make some money...two-cent hookers :thumbdown

to be throwing any baseballs into the fish tank next year.? In fact, don't look for any player to throw baseballs to the fans next year.

As a defense lawyer, I am embarrased to say that a fan has actually SUED Juan Pierre and the Marlins in Broward County Circuit Court alleging that Juan Pierre negligently threw a baseball into the stand with such "great velocity" that it hit a fan in the face.? This seemingly frivoulous suit was filed on October 4 in Broward County.