You never know what kids will say...

Hey guys, just wanted to share a quick story...

I'm an elementary school teacher and I'm always full of hilarious stories based on the random things that kids do and say. Today I had a Marlins moment with a kid that made me chuckle, figured you'd get a smile out of it...

The kids know I'm a huge Marlins fan, as my classroom is loaded with all-things Marlins, and today a fourth grader comes up to me and we had this conversation..

"Hey Mr. B, have you ever gotten an autograph from a famous athlete?"

"Yep! And plenty of Marlins ones of course!"

"Really? Like who?"

"Well, I've got a signed baseball from Miguel Cabrera!"

...I was sure I trumped him with this one, what 9 year old kid is gonna top a Miguel Cabrera signed basball? Well, he looks me dead in the eye, shrugs it off and says...

"Oh. So? I've got Wes Helms."

I just clenched my teeth and smirked as I tried to desperately hold in my laughter. Cute moment, but its funny how these kids perceive things sometimes. And right away, after saying one final comment that was probably something like "Ahhh, ok, thaaaat's nice." I immedietaly told myself that I had to post that moment on here. Hope you got a kick out of that! Thanks for listening!

Holy Crap.

My students call me Mr. B, too...

Yeah and part of me cant stand it. Number 1, I consider it laziness cuz they refuse to say my whole last name, and secondly, I don't like it cause when most of them say it I sound like a creepy neighbor on a sitcom from the 70's. Like I'm the mailman or some other loser that shows up every few episodes for a cheap laugh. Lol, "How ya doin Mr. B?"

Holy Crap.

At least you guys get an initial. My wife teaches HS Psych and either is called "Miss" or "Chappy", not "Mrs. Chapman" or even "Mrs. C." It's kind of a rough area, so she long ago gave up trying to change the behavior.